Not only is vehicle insurance a legal requirement in all 50 states, but it helps protect a driver’s financial interests. Not carrying insurance while operating a vehicle could have heavy penalties, especially if you are involved in or responsible for an accident. Read on to learn about auto insurance requirements in Arizona.
State-Mandated Auto Insurance in Arizona
Every state requires drivers to hold a certain amount of insurance to operate a vehicle legally. The lowest amount you can carry and still legally drive is called the statutory minimum auto policy limits. The state of Arizona requires every driver to maintain a minimum amount of liability insurance. In Arizona, this is split into three separate coverage types: per person, per accident, and property damage.
- The “Per Person” Bodily Injury limit is the amount that your auto insurer will cover for any single person injured in a car accident that you are responsible for. In Arizona the statutory minimum auto Bodily Injury Coverage “Per Person” is 25K. It will cover one person only, up to your coverage’s “per person” 25K limit.
- The “Per-Accident” Bodily Injury limit applies if you injure more than one person in the same accident. It is the total amount that your insurance will cover for bodily injuries you are responsible for in any one accident. In Arizona the statutory minimum auto Bodily Injury Coverage “Per Accident” is 50K. This limit is the total amount your insurance company will pay, though your insurance company, and will not exceed the “per accident” limit for any one given accident.
- Property damage per accident is the total dollar amount an insurance company will cover for damages you caused to another’s property.
Penalties for not Carrying Auto Insurance
Suppose you are stopped by a law enforcement officer when driving, asked to verify auto insurance, and are unable to do so. In that case, you could face a citation and additional penalties. Drivers who operate a vehicle in Arizona without the proper auto insurance coverage may face harsh consequences, including loss of license.
For every citation for uninsured driving, there may be three different penalties (if it is a first offense). These include a fine of at least $500, suspension of driving privileges for up to three months, and the requirement of carrying an SR-22 certificate on your insurance for two years. These penalties will increase for second and subsequent offenses. For example, a second offense will carry a fine of at least $750 and a six-month loss of driving privileges. These consequences are small compared to the damages you could be held responsible for if you cause an accident while driving without insurance in Arizona.
Why adhering to Arizona Insurance Requirements is Important
No one expects to find themselves at fault for a car accident. However, liability coverage is vital to cover the damage up to your policy limits if you find yourself in that situation. Arizona’s liability limits are relatively low compared to a lot of other states, so it’s always a good idea to consider increasing them.
In addition to the penalties set by the state of Arizona, failing to have insurance could have disastrous consequences if you cause an accident. If you do not have insurance when you cause an accident on the roadway, you could be held personally liable for injuries and property damage expenses caused to other parties.
At Jeff GOULD Law, we are the Attorney in YOUR Corner, and we know the importance of ensuring you are covered BEFORE you are involved in an accident. If you find yourself liable for a car accident, being properly insured could be the difference between a potentially life-altering mistake and a simple accident. If you are involved in a car accident, regardless of your insurance coverage, a personal injury attorney that will keep your well-being in mind should be one of your first calls.
DISCLAIMER: The information on this blog/site is NOT, nor is it intended to be, legal advice. It is for general informational use only. You should consult an attorney for advice regarding your individual situation. Further, this information does not create an attorney-client relationship.