While driving under the influence is never a good idea, anyone could find themselves behind the wheel even if they aren’t completely sober. In Arizona, penalties for DUIs are stricter than in many states, so if you are stopped under suspicion of DUI in Arizona, there are several things that you should know to make sure your situation doesn’t end up going sideways in a worst-case scenario.
We’ve compiled 4 things you should know about Arizona DUI laws to give you options and general information you may need to help protect yourself if you are facing conviction for DUI charges in Arizona.
- Arizona is a no-tolerance state
Arizona has shown through enforcement and legislation that it has no tolerance for driving under the influence. The state expands its anti-DUI efforts every year by increasing its sobriety checkpoints and training officers to aggressively pursue individuals suspected of DUI.
Arizona is a no-tolerance state with a zero-tolerance policy towards DUI. A zero-tolerance law imposes consequences and penalties on any individual driving while impaired. This means that you can be arrested and convicted even if your blood alcohol content is below the federally legal blood alcohol limit of .08%. If an officer has probable cause to believe that you are impaired, even to the slightest degree – due to drugs and/or alcohol – while operating a vehicle, you can be arrested for DUI.
- 4 types of DUIs in Arizona
According to Arizona DUI Laws, there are 4 ways to be charged with DUI.
- Your ability to operate a motor vehicle is impaired due to the consumption of drugs or alcohol, even to the slightest degree. Regardless of your blood alcohol content, you are at risk for conviction if you are pulled over and the officer has probable cause that you are impaired in any way due to the consumption of a controlled substance.
- You have a blood alcohol content of .08% or higher within 2 hours of operating a vehicle. If your blood alcohol content is at or above the legal limit and you are pulled over, your impairment level is irrelevant.
- You have a blood alcohol content of .04% or higher, and you are operating a vehicle that requires a commercial driver’s license (CDL). The legal BAC limit for operating a vehicle that requires a CDL, like a commercial semi-truck, is lower than a standard vehicle.
- You are under the age of 21 and operating a motor vehicle with any amount of alcohol in your system. If you are under the legal drinking age and found to be operating a vehicle while under the influence in Arizona, regardless of your state of impairment or blood alcohol content, you are at risk for conviction. This is known as a “baby/minor DUI.”
If you are stopped under suspicion of a DUI in Arizona, and any of the above applies to you, you risk conviction and a jail sentence.
- A DUI conviction can have serious consequences.
DUI convictions in Arizona have serious ramifications that can stay with you for years. Short-term consequences include: a suspended driver’s license; higher insurance premiums; mandated community service or other penalties; mandatory DUI education courses and installation of an interlock device in your vehicle. While these can seriously affect your life, they are not the only consequences of a DUI conviction.
Arizona DUI laws prohibit driving while under the influence of any intoxicating substance if the driver is impaired to the slightest degree. If convicted, you can face a mandatory jail sentence of 10 days to 6 months. In addition, convicted individuals face a base fine of $250 (+) that can increase to a maximum of $2,500 (+) depending on the specific circumstances of the offense.
- You should hire an attorney
If you are arrested for a DUI in Arizona, it’s best to hire an attorney. You will need an experienced Attorney In YOUR Corner to give you the best possible defense. An experienced DUI attorney, like at Jeff GOULD Law, can evaluate the entirety of your case and spot any issues involved with the investigation, field sobriety tests, or scientific analysis that led to your arrest.
When it comes to Arizona DUIs, it is vital to hire an attorney familiar with Arizona DUI laws that has experience with cases specific to your individual circumstances. At Jeff GOULD Law, we fight back to protect your rights and freedoms from the potentially harsh penalties that a DUI conviction leads to. Whether it’s your 1st or 4th DUI, contact us today to start protecting yourself from severe DUI penalties in Arizona.
DISCLAIMER: The information on this blog/site is NOT, nor is it intended to be, legal advice. It is for general informational use only. You should consult an attorney for advice regarding your individual situation. Further, this information does not create an attorney-client relationship.